Adair avenges 2013 loss, wears 2014 baseball crown

-A A +A

Indians’ first title since 1989, stops Eagles six-year winning streak

By Bobby Brockman



Adair County, last year’s No. 1 seed, was knocked off in the first round by Campbellsville on the Indians’ home field, but bounced back to claim the 20th District Tournament title on the Eagles’ home field 4-3 on Wednesday night.
“It’s been a good run,” admitted CHS coach Kirby Smith whose program saw its district championship streak halted at six. “The ball has gone our way a few times.”
After Campbellsville scored in the first on Cody Houk’s RBI-single, Adair County struck for three in the top of the second on singles by Mike Ratliff, Trenton Watson and David Streeval around a double by Dusty Todd.
The first Indian run came on a wild pitch while Watson’s hit scored the second run and Streeval’s hit plated the third tally.
The Eagles went hitless to the fifth when Julian Pierce and J.T. Holmes started the frame with back-to-back doubles to cut the CHS deficit to 3-2.
After a sacrifice bunt by Chase Thomas moved Holmes to third, he scored on a sacrifice and fielder’s choice from Clayton Thomas.
However, Adair County quickly responded with a run in the top of the sixth in what proved to be the game-winner.
With one out,  Todd singled and an out later Cody Yates singled to left-field for the Indians’ fourth run.
Lindsey Wilson-commitment Ty Bennett went the distance to collect the mound victory for Adair County while Austin Hash suffered the loss for CHS.
“I tip my hat to them,” Smith praised Adair County. “We didn’t give them anything. They earned it.
“I told our guys ‘district runners-up can still win region’. That’s how Central Hardin started their run.”
The next round of post-season play begins today with the Fifth Region Tournament at Central Hardin. Pairings are in Upcoming games.

The Adair County district title, the Indians first since 1989, also stopped a 24-year run where either Campbellsville or Taylor County (12 by each) had worn the crown. (Marion County’s last title came in 1988).

Adair County 4, Campbellsville 3
20th District Baseball Tournament
Campbellsville High School
Championship game
Adair County    030    001    0    —    4    8    2
Campbellsville    100    020    0    —    3    3    0

Ty Bennett and Cody Yates. Austin Hash, J.T. Holmes (7) and Caleb Gupton. 2B — Dusty Todd (AC), Julian Pierce (C), J.T. Holmes (C). Two hits — Marshall Shelley (AC), Todd (AC). Singles — Mike Ratliff, Trenton Watson (AC), Yates (AC), David Streeval (AC), Cody Houk (C). W — Bennett. L — Hash.